Oops! 

A man suposed to have knee sugery gets a diffetent procedure.

I was very weak. i woke up in my hospital bed. I was suprise how weak i was. I suspected that the drugs stil had not totaly worn off. I felt realy weird. I had never had major surgery before so this was a new fronteer for me.  I still felt like this was abnormal. I really did not like it. Not at all. 

I decided to ring the nerse. It was  a short period of time before the nurse arrived.  I had never met the nurse before.  She appeared to have a very ling face. It could just be rested sas face syimdrome. I had no bases to judge that.  I had a sneky suspicion that the surgery did not go off without a hitch. For some reason i was certain of that. 

“Your awake?” the nurse said. “Did you think that i would not wake up?”i asked. She looked me over.she took my sats and recorded them on my chart. She never answered my questione. If i was not concerned before, i certainly was now.  Something was defiantly up. 

She completed the test.  She asked me some medical questions.  Then she left. She told me that the doctor would be there soon. 

Then after a while several doctors and nurses entered. They all had stern faces.  I had no idea if this is bad news or that. 

“Mr. Braden you came in for knee surgery?” the doctor asked in more of a rherorical question.  ” yes i was. ” i replied.

“There was a complication.” a women dresed in a white lab and blouse and skirt. I later learned that she was a pyschologest who specialized in trauma.  She headed up the hospital malpractice commite. 

“What kind of complications? ” i asked. ” the surgical team got yout chart misplaced with another. The error was not uncovered until after the procedure occured.”the doctor who appeared to be in charge said.

I really did not like like where this was going. I tried not to jump ahead.i mearly listened. I tried to keep calm and remain objective. 

“You see mt braden you were suposed to have knee replacement. That was not the surgery that was performed. “A younger doctor that had been silent before said.

“Ok! What procedure was performed?” i asked. I was getting a bit agitated.  I tried to mantain my composure. By the way people were acting i was begining to think this was serious then i suspected. In retrospect as bad as the senerios i came up with, the truth was far worse. 

” well mr. Braden your chart was switched with a patient that was sheduled to have a penectomy. ” the lead doctor said. 

“Oh no! You got to be kidding! Please tell me you did not remove my penis! ” i said. I removed the blanket. I went inside my hospital gowan. I had a diaper on. I opened the diaper.

My penis was gone. It had totaly been removed. They created a hole that i could urinate it. It looked crude. I wanted to scream. I did not want to show any greef in front of them. These strangers. Those who caused this. Those who screwed up. 

I was stuned. How could this had happened.  How could they have messed up this bad? What i was going to do. I has lost my male privy member. What was i? I was half the man. I was a eunuch.  I was out raged sad and every orher emotion in between. 

What was even worse was that she had performed the knee surgery. They wanted to reshedule the original operation at a later date. I told them that was not going to hapen.mayby at some point i might have that surgery done.  That would not be done at this hospital. I could not get out of hear fast enough. 

I was glad that the surgical team left.i felt awful. I could not believe this. I wanted to cry but i would not cry hear. They do not get to see my years.they had broken me but i was not totaly destoyed. I stil had my dignity. I would not throw that away. 

The pain came and went. I was given drugs. I wanted to go home. The doctors felt it would be unsafe.  I demanded to speak to an ombudsman.  I even mentioned the possibility of geting a judge to order me released. A kind of habeas corpus.  They convinced me to go to a short term rehabilitation center.  As long as i got out of this place it was fine. Being. In a touture chamber in the middle ages would be preferable to hear. 

I was sent to a rehab hospital. I was given pain killers. I was given the option of reconstructive surgery that would resrore a penis.  I did not want any more surgery.

I was sligly incontinent. I kept wearing a diaper. I was not sure if i was male or female any more.i got estrogin injection.eventually i was able to go home.my sister let me stay with her. My family helped me out. I had a wheal chair but could walk on my own power most of the time.  

I sued the hospital. I was given a lot of mony. I used the nony to pay my medical bills and legal bills and other debts.i did not use a cent of it for anything but bills most of whitch waS incured due to the incident.  That was all i cared about.

I tried to move on as best as i could. I would make the best of it. I would go on. 

The end. 

Leave a Reply

